U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona today recognized 325 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021, including six schools in Minnesota. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. Secretary Cardona made the announcement during his Return to School Road Trip, while visiting an awardee school, Walter R. Sundling Jr. High School, in Palatine, Illinois.

The Minnesota schools named as National Blue Ribbon Schools were:

  • Barnesville – Barnesville Elementary School, Barnesville School District
  • Blaine – Roosevelt Middle School, Anoka-Hennepin School District
  • Elk River – Twin Lakes Elementary School, Elk River School District
  • Excelsior – Minnetonka West Middle School, Minnetonka School District
  • Ham Lake – McKinley Elementary School, Anoka-Hennepin School District
  • Stillwater – St. Croix Preparatory Academy Middle School, St. Croix Preparatory Academy

“This year’s cohort of honorees demonstrates what is possible when committed educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” said Secretary Cardona. “I commend all our Blue Ribbon honorees for working to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs. In the face of unprecedented circumstances, you found creative ways to engage, care for, protect, and teach our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have so much to offer and can serve as a model for other schools and communities so that we can truly build back better.”