Mower County and the rest of Minnesota to take part in Super Tuesday

Minnesota is joining 13 other states, including Texas and California Super Tuesday this year, in perhaps the most consequential day of the presidential primary season.  It will be Minnesota’s first presidential primary since 1992 and only the fourth in state history. KAUS News spoke with Amanda Kiefer, deputy Auditor/Treasurer for Mower County who stated that their office will be open extended hours today (Monday) and Tuesday…

Absentee ballots must be received by the Auditor/Treasurer’s office by 5 p.m. today, and you can also turn them in at the office in person until 3 p.m. Tuesday afternoon.  Some mail-ballot precincts in Mower County have until 8 p.m. Tuesday to turn their ballots at the office at the county government center at 201 1st St. NE in downtown Austin.  Kiefer went on to state that the response to the primary in Mower County has been a strong one….

Polling locations throughout Mower County will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday. Your respective polling location is listed on your voter registration card. Same day registration is available; those qualified citizens who are not registered may do so at their polling location and be eligible to vote in Tuesday’s primaries.  A reminder that the presidential primaries require voters to pick a ballot for one of the major parties, you cannot vote on both ballots. Those who have already voted via absentee ballot or have submitted a ballot by mail may not vote again.