Southland Rebels girls basketball team falls to Lanesboro 55-35 in Section 1A tournament

The Southland Rebels girls basketball team, the No. 13 seed in the Section 1A tournament traveled to fourth-seeded Lanesboro to take on the Burros in a second-round matchup of Southeast Conference teams Friday evening, and it was the Burros fighting off a Rebel rally in the the second half to advance by a score of 55-35.

Lanesboro never trailed in the game and used an 11-2 run to open up a 22-7 first half lead, led by freshman guard Jensyn Storhoff, who scored 10 of her 17 point in the opening frame, and the Burros also forced 12 first half turnovers by Southland to lead 28-12 at the hafltime break.

The Rebels quickly showed that they would not go quietly into the night as they opened the second half on a 14-9 run to cut the lead to 11 at 37-26, and they trailed 40-29 a short time later, only to see Lanesboro respond with a 9-1 run, keyed mostly by senior forward and 1,000 point scorer Jessie Schriber, who drained two 3-pointers during the run and scored 13 of her game-high 18 points in the second half to boost the Burros’ lead back to 18 at 48-30.  Lanesboro was also able to get 6’0 senior center Kaci Ruen, another 1,000+ point scorer more involved in the offense in the second half as she finished with 12 to help the Burros boost their lead to as large as 22 points on their way to the win.

Southland was led by freshman guard Breely Galle, who drained a 3-pointer in the second half on her way to 12 points, senior forward Bria Nelson, one of only two seniors on the squad for the Rebels this season finished with seven points, junior guard Katelyn McCabe and freshman guard Juliette Mathies each tallied six points, sophomore guard Maren Wehrenberg scored two points and freshman guard Shannon Kiefer tallied one point from the free throw line in Friday night’s contest.

Southland finishes the season with a record of 7-21, while Lanesboro advances to play No. 5 seed Kingsland in the Section 1A quarterfinals next Tuesday night at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester at 7:30 p.m.