Shute, Lewis, Herrick qualify for state cross-country meet at Section 1AA meet in Albert Lea Thursday

The Austin Packers cross-country teams traveled to Bancroft Bay Park in Albert Lea for the Section 1AA meet Thursday, and in the girls competition, Waseca qualified for the team portion of the state cross-country meet by taking first place with 81 team points, Faribault also qualified by taking second with 99 points, Plainview-Elgin-Millville finished third with 100 points, then came the Packers in fourth with 104 team points, and Winona rounded out the top five in the 11-team field with 131 points.

Austin will be sending two runners to the State Class AA Girls Cross-Country meet at St. Olaf College in Northfield on Saturday, November 5th, as sophomore Marissa Shute finished fourth overall with a time of 19:46.14, and 8th grade teammate Sydney Lewis finished eighth to also qualify for state with a time of 20:33.81.  Eighth-grader Kya McManus came in 17th for the Packers Thursday with a final time of 21:09.04, junior Grace Votherms finished in 30th with a time of 21:57.18 and senior Cassidy Shute came in 45th with a time of 22:40.87.

In the boys’ competition, the host Albert Lea Tigers qualified for the state meet by taking first with 60 team points, just edging out Winona who also qualfied in second with 61 points.  Stewartville was third with 101 team points, followed by Austin in fourth with 124 points, and Red Wing was close behind in fifth in the 12-team field with 126 team points.

Senior Thomas Herrick is on his way to the state meet as he took fifth overall with a final time of 17:13.01 on the 5000 meter course, freshman teammate Thomas Asmus finished in 15th place with a time of 17:52.29, senior Joseph Garry came in 32nd with a time of 18:35.25, senior Joseph Hilkin took 35th with a final time of 18:44.07 and sophomore Noah Sash took 37th for the Packers with a time of 18:53.15.

The Class AA girls’ portion of the state meet on Saturday, November 5th will get underway for Shute and Lewis at 2:30 p.m. that afternoon, while Herrick will take to the course as a part of the boys’ competition to follow at 3:30 p.m.  The awards ceremony for Class AA is scheduled for 4:15 p.m. that afternoon.