The Pillars of the City of Austin Committee will be unveiling plaques for the individuals chosen as the 2020 Pillars of the City during a ceremony at 3 p.m. on Friday, July 3, at the North Main Street floodwall.

Since 2016, individuals that have had an impact on the City of Austin have been selected by the Committee to be honored with a plaque placed on the floodwall. Each plaque contains an engraved image and biography of the individual.

The Committee selected three individuals who will be revealed on Friday.  The first inductees in 2016 included George and Jay C. Hormel, Richard Knowlton, Dr. Richard Schindler and Jon Erichson.  2017 inductees included Ira James Holton, Gary Ray and Esther Morse, inductees in 2018 included Robert Enright, Lyman Barid and Norm Hecimovich and the 2019 inductees were Gertrude Ellis, John O’Rourke and Bonnie Rietz.

Unveiling is usually conducted at the Community Bandshell during Freedom Fest, but the floodwall was chosen this year after the Austin City Council cancelled Freedom Fest activities due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The unveiling can be seen beginning at 3 p.m. on Friday on Facebook Live at

In the event of inclement weather, the ceremony will be held at Austin City Hall.