Information for special general election for Mower County District 1 County Comissioner vacancy

The Special General Election for the Mower County District 1 County Commissioner vacancy will be held on Tuesday, April 13, 2021.

The vacancy occurred when Commissioner Tim Gabrielson passed away on Nov. 10, 2020 and the County Board approved holding a special election to fill the vacancy on Nov. 24. Seven individuals filed for the office so a special primary election was held on February 9, 2021. The two candidates receiving the most votes in the primary election advanced to the special general election. The two candidates are Tim Duren and John Mueller. 

Mower County Auditor/Treasurer Scott Felten stated in a news release that absentee voting is available now through Monday, April 12 for the special general election at the Auditor-Treasurer’s office in the Mower County Government Center located at 201 First Street NE in Austin. Regular office hours are 8:00 am – 4:30 pm, Monday Friday. Voters should enter through the law enforcement center entrance on the northwest side of the government center.

The Auditor-Treasurer’s office will also be open for absentee voting on Saturday, April 10 from 10 am – 3 pm and on Monday, April 12 from 8 am – 5 pm.

As Election Day is fast approaching, Felten stated that any voter wanting to absentee vote is encouraged to do so inperson at the Auditor-Treasurer’s office, rather than through the mail. There is not enough time to complete the absentee voting process through the mail to ensure that the ballot is received in time to be counted. The deadline to return a completed absentee ballot is 3 pm on Tuesday, April 13th. 

Only voters living in Commissioner District 1 will vote in the special election. District 1 includes the townships of Lansing, Red Rock, Udolpho, and Waltham; and also includes the cities of Brownsdale, Mapleview, Waltham, and the 1st Ward, 1st Precinct of the City of Austin.

On Election Day, Tuesday, April 13, voting hours will be from 7 am to 8 pm at the polling places in the district.  Felten stated in the release that City of Austin voters in Ward 1 Precinct 1 will vote at Austin City Hall, City of Brownsdale voters and Red Rock Township voters will vote at the Brownsdale Fire Hall, City of Waltham voters will vote at the Waltham Area Government Center and Lansing Township voters will vote at the Lansing Township Hall.

The City of Mapleview, Udolpho Township, and Waltham Township are mail ballot precincts and registered voters in those precincts have had ballots mailed to them already. Mail ballots can be mailed back to the Auditor-Treasurer’s office, or dropped off inperson at the office, or the voter can come to the Auditor-Treasurer’s office to vote in-person. The deadline for voters in these mail ballot precincts to return their ballot is 8 pm, on Tuesday, April 13.

Felten stated that absentee ballots and mail ballots once again require a witness to sign the voter’s signature envelope. The witness requirement was waived only for 2020 elections due to COVID-19.

Only voters in mail ballot precincts can vote in-person at the Auditor-Treasurer’s office on Election Day, Tuesday, April 13, 2021 from 7 am – 8 pm.

For questions or more information, please contact the Mower County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office at 507-437-9535, or email [email protected].