Filings for local, state and federal elected offices continues until June 2nd

Filings for local, state and national elected offices continue until June 2nd, and in the City of Austin, current Mayor Tom Stiehm announced at the last city council meeting that he will not be seeking a sixth term as Mayor in November.  Current city councilmen Steve King and Jeff Austin, plus teacher, coach and Marine Corps veteran Jason Heimer have all filed for the position. 

Also up for election in November are the seats of First Ward Councilwoman Laura Helle, Second Ward Councilman Steve King and Third Ward Councilman Paul Fischer.  All are four-year terms.  At last check of the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website, Oballa Oballa, a member of the Austin Human Rights Commission and a recent Honorary Austin City Council member has filed for the seat in the First Ward, Michael Postma has filed for the city council seat in Ward 2, and Paul Fischer has filed for his seat in the Third Ward. 

Also up for election in November are three four-year terms on the city’s Utility Board, and those positions are currently being held by Thomas Baulder, Tyler Hulsebus and Kris Johnson.  

For Mower County, incumbent 1st District County Commissioner Tim Gabrielson has filed for a possible fourth term, and incumbent 2nd District County Commissioner Polly Glynn has filed for a possible third term in November. 

For State Representative in District 27B, incumbent Democrat Jeanne Poppe of Austin and Republican challenger Patricia Mueller of Austin have both filed, and in District 27A, Republican incumbent Peggy Bennett of Albert Lea is the only candidate to file thus far.

Filings for elected offices in Minnesota remain open until 5:00 p.m. on June 2nd.