Ettinger wins DFL nomination, Munson concedes to Finstad for Republicans in Minnesota 1st U.S. Congressional District Special Primary Election

Voters in Mower County and elsewhere around the 1st U.S. Congressional District went to the polls yesterday for a special primary election, which was necessitated with the passing of Congressman Jim Hagedorn in February after a long battle with kidney cancer.  The winners of Tuesday’s election will advance to a special election to fill the vacant seat on August 9th, and with all precincts around the district reporting in, former Hormel Foods CEO and Chairman of the Hormel Foundation Jeff Ettinger of Austin was the winner for the Democrats Tuesday with a total of 12,261 votes, or 64.25%.  Sarah Brakebill-Hacke was second with 2,524 votes, or 13.23% and Richard Painter was third with 1,740 votes, or 9.12%.  For the Republicans, Brad Finstad was the winner Tuesday with 13,385 votes, or 37.99% with Jeremy Munson close behind with 13,446 votes, or 36.92%, a difference of only 389 votes.  Munson conceded to Finstad Wednesday, giving Finstad the win.  Jennifer Carnahan, the widow of Congressman Hagedorn was third with 2,918 votes, or 8%.  Richard B. Reisdorf ran unopposed for the Legalize Marijuana Now Party and received 389 votes Tuesday, and Haroun McClellan also ran unopposed for the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party and received 202 votes.

In Mower County, Jeff Ettinger also finished first by a wide margin for the Democrats Tuesday with 1,808, or 90.76% of the vote, followed by Sarah Brakebill-Hacke with 59 votes and Candice Deal-Bartell with 32 votes.  Brad Finstad was first for the Republicans in Mower County with 638 votes, or 38.62%, Jeremy Munson was second with 548 votes, or 33.17% and Jennifer Carnahan was third in Mower County with 184 votes, or 11.14%.  Richard B. Reisdorf received 19 votes for the Legalize Marijuana Now Party and Haroun McClellan received eight votes for the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party in Mower County Tuesday.