Blooming Prairie boys golf team first, girls squad fourth at Gopher Conference meet in Waseca Thursday

The Blooming Prairie Awesome Blossoms boys golf team was able to repeat as Gopher Conference Champions this season at the conference meet at Waseca Lakeside Golf Club Thursday.   The Blossoms started the day with a good-sized lead and held off Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton and United South Central for the title.  Hayfield wound up in fourth place, followed by Triton in fifth, Kenyon-Wanamingo in sixth, Maple River in seventh and NHREG also competed in the meet Thursday.

All Conference awards for Blooming Prairie went to seniors Colin Jordison and Garrett Farr, plus senior David Kartez and 8th grader Colby Johnson were named to the Gopher Conference Honorable Mention All-Conference squad.
On the girls side, Blooming Prairie finished in 4th place in the Team Event with 8th grader Ella Farr and freshman Caitlyn Stangl both being named to the Gopher Conference Honorable Mention All-Conference team.
The Blossoms’ boys golf team will next compete in the Section 2AA tournament at New Prague Golf Club in New Prague on May 31st, with the girls’ tournament teeing off on June 1st.