Absentee voting for special general election in Mower County Board of Commissioners District 1 to start Friday, February 26th

Mower County Auditor/Treasurer Scott Felten stated in a news release that absentee voting begins on Friday, February 26th for the special general election to fill the vacancy for District 1 County Commissioner.  The two candidates for the office are Tim Duren and John Mueller.

Voters can absentee vote by going to the Auditor-Treasurer’s office in the Mower County Government Center located at 201 1st Street NE in Austin.  They should enter the government center through the Law Enforcement Center entrance on the northwest side of the building.  Hours are 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.

Absentee voting runs through Monday, April 12 at 5 pm for the April 13 special general election.

Absentee voting is also available at the Auditor-Treasurer’s office on Saturday, March 6 and Saturday, April 10th from 10 am – 3 pm.

Ballots for registered voters living in mail ballot precincts and previously requested absentee ballots will be mailed out the second week in March.

Only voters living in District 1 can vote in this special election.  District 1 includes the townships of Lansing, Red Rock, Udolpho, and Waltham and includes the cities of Brownsdale, Mapleview, Waltham, and Ward 1 Precinct 1 of the City of Austin.

For more information, please call the Mower County Auditor-Treasurer’s office at 437-9535.