Absentee voting for Mower County District 1 County Commissioner Special Primary Election underway

The next step in filling the Mower County District 1 County Commissioner vacancy will be the Special Primary Election to be held on Tuesday, February 9, 2021. 

The vacancy occurred when Commissioner Tim Gabrielson passed away on Nov. 10 and the  county board then approved holding a special election to fill the vacancy on Nov. 24. Seven candidates are running for the office so a special primary election is necessary to narrow the field  down to two candidates who will then advance to the special general election on Tuesday, April  13th.  KAUS News spoke with Mower County Auditor/Treasurer Scott Felten, who stated that absentee voting for the February 9th Primary Election is underway…

Absentee ballots will begin to be mailed out in early January as applications are received.  Only voters living in Commissioner District 1 will vote in the special elections.  District 1 includes the townships of Lansing, Red Rock, Udolpho, and Waltham; and also includes the cities of Brownsdale, Mapleview, Waltham, and the 1st Ward, 1st Precinct of the City of Austin.  The candidates, in alphabetical order include Ric Berg, Tim Duren, Laura Helle, Arnie Johnson,  Mark Lang, Michael Langstaff, and John Mueller.