Cedar River Watershed District honored as 2017 Watershed District of the Year

The Cedar River Watershed District was honored Friday as the 2017 Watershed District of the Year at the Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts’ annual convention in Alexandria.  Justin Hanson, Director of the CRWD spoke with John Wright on “Wright Here, Right Now” on KAUS and stated that the award was only made possible because of the many great people and organizations the CRWD works with….

Todd Piepho, an area hydrologist for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, nominated CRWD for this year’s award, recognizing the district’s numerous efforts to improve water quality and reduce flooding within its 435 square miles of land in Mower, Dodge, Freeborn and Steele counties.   Under the nomination, CRWD was recognized for various work related to water regulation, water-quality improvement projects, water monitoring, flood-damage reduction, community engagement and watershed planning.  Now in its 10th year, CRWD was formed in 2007 by local and state officials in response to the Austin area’s two worst-known floods in 2000 and 2004. CRWD’s top priorities are flood reduction and water-quality improvement.