20+ counties in Minnesota, including a portion of Mower County still listed as being in a sever drought

More than 20 counties in Minnesota are still being classified in the D2 severe drought stage, including a portion of Mower County, and many crops are being affected.  State Ag Commissioner Thom Peterson:

Despite recent rains, the latest US Drought Monitor Map for Minnesota is showing the southwestern and southern portions of Mower County as being in a severe drought, while the rest of the county is listed as being in a moderate drought.  The map is also currently showing all or parts of 19 counties in Minnesota as being abnormally dry, all or portions of over 60 counties throughout the state as being in a moderate drought and all or parts of Freeborn, Faribault, Martin, Jackson, Nobles, Rock, Pipestone, Waseca, Blue Earth, Watonwan, Cottonwood, Kittson, Marshall, Polk, Pennington, Red Lake, Norman, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Hubbard, Beltrami and Becker Counties as being in a severe drought.  Petersen says livestock producers should be thinking ahead about forage needs and recommends crop farmers who anticipate losses reach out to their insurance agents about what needs to be documented.